Conference site » Proceedings

Proceedings of the 8th Python in Science Conference (SciPy2009)

8th Annual Python in Science Conference - Pasadena, CA, August 18-23, 2009.

Full text PDF

Table of contents

Gael Varoquaux Stéfan van der Walt Jarrod Millman
p. 2
Cython tutorial
Stefan Behnel Robert W. Bradshaw Dag Sverre Seljebotn
p. 4
Fast numerical computations with Cython
Dag Sverre Seljebotn
p. 15
High-Performance Code Generation Using CorePy
Andrew Friedley Christopher Mueller Andrew Lumsdaine
p. 23
Convert-XY: type-safe interchange of C++ and Python containers for NumPy extensions
Damian Eads Edward Rosten
p. 29
Parallel Kernels: An Architecture for Distributed Parallel Computing
P. A. Kienzle N. Patel M. McKerns
p. 36
PaPy: Parallel and distributed data-processing pipelines in Python
Marcin Cieślik Cameron Mura
p. 41
PMI - Parallel Method Invocation
Olaf Lenz
p. 48
Sherpa: 1D/2D modeling and fitting in Python
Brian L. Refsdal Stephen M. Doe Dan T. Nguyen Aneta L. Siemiginowska Nina R. Bonaventura Douglas Burke Ian N. Evans Janet D. Evans Antonella Fruscione Elizabeth C. Galle John C. Houck Margarita Karovska Nicholas P. Lee Michael A. Nowak
p. 51
The FEMhub Project and Classroom Teaching of Numerical Methods
Pavel Solin Ondrej Certik Sameer Regmi
p. 58
Exploring the future of bioinformatics data sharing and mining with Pygr and Worldbase
Christopher Lee Alexander Alekseyenko C. Titus Brown
p. 62
Nitime: time-series analysis for neuroimaging data
Ariel Rokem Michael Trumpis Fernando Pérez
p. 68
Multiprocess System for Virtual Instruments in Python
Brian D'Urso
p. 76
Neutron-scattering data acquisition and experiment automation with Python
Piotr A. Zolnierczuk Richard E. Riedel
p. 81
Progress Report: NumPy and SciPy Documentation in 2009
Joseph Harrington David Goldsmith
p. 84

Proceeding editors: Gael Varoquaux, Stefan van der Walt, K. Jarrod Millman

Conference Chair
  • K. Jarrod Millman, UC Berkeley (USA)
Program Committee
  • Co-chair: Gaël Varoquaux, INRIA Saclay (France)
  • Co-chair: Stéfan van der Walt, University of Stellenbosch (South Africa)
  • Michael Aivazis, Center for Advanced Computing Research, California Institute of Technology (USA)
  • Brian Granger, Physics Department, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo (USA)
  • Aric Hagberg, Theoretical Division, Los Alamos National Laboratory (USA)
  • Konrad Hinsen, Centre de Biophysique Moléculaire, CNRS Orléeans (France)
  • Randall LeVeque, Mathematics, University of Washington, Seattle (USA)
  • Travis Oliphant, Enthought Inc. (USA)
  • Prabhu Ramachandran, Department of Aerospace Engineering, IIT Bombay (India)
  • Raphael Ritz, International Neuroinformatics Coordinating Facility (Sweden)
  • William Stein, Mathematics, University of Washington, Seattle (USA)
Tutorial Coordinators
  • Fernando Pérez, UC Berkeley (USA)
  • Dave Peterson, Enthought (USA)
Proceeding reviewers
  • Francesc Alted, Pytables (Spain)
  • Philippe Ciuciu, Neurospin, CEA - Saclay (France)
  • Yann Cointepas, Neurospin, CEA - Saclay (France)
  • Emmanuelle Gouillart, CNRS Saint Gobain (France)
  • Jonathan Guyer, NIST (USA)
  • Ben Herbst, Stellenbosh University, (South Africa)
  • Paul Kienzle, NIST (USA)
  • Michael McKerns, Center for Advanced Computing Research, California (USA)
  • Sturla Molden, University of Oslo (Norway)
  • Jean-Baptiste Poline, Neurospin, CEA - Saclay (France)
  • Dag Sverre Seljebotni, University of Oslo (Norway)
  • Gregor Thalhammer, University of Florence (Italy)